Posted on

virginia marijuana seed laws

§ 4.1-1100. Possession, etc., of marijuana and marijuana products by persons 21 years of age or older lawful; penalties. (Effective July 1, 2021)

§ 4.1-600. Definitions. (Effective July 1, 2021)

Yes. Limited employment protections are only extended to registered medical cannabis patients.

How much concentrate/edible can I possess?

The the law states “a person 21 years of age or older may lawfully possess on his person or in any public place not more than one ounce of marijuana.” There is no law specific to what an adult 21+ may possess in private not on their person for personal use.

“Marijuana products” means (i) products that are composed of marijuana and other ingredients and are intended for use or consumption, ointments, and tinctures or (ii) marijuana concentrate.

No. Retail sales are not yet legal in Virginia.

It is not legal to do so, even if the site claims it to be for novelty purposes.

What have other states done?

Virginia legislators approved a medical cannabis program and have actively chosen to maintain it.

What can Virginians do?

Acquiring marijuana seeds or clone plants is a major issue for would-be homegrowers in Missouri or elsewhere. In this Feb. 14, 2019 photo, a professor at the State University of New York in Morrisville displays some cannabis seeds. (Photo: Mary Esch, AP)

If they buy pot out of state and bring it in state to roll/smoke, is that illegal?

In the meantime, if Virginians can’t purchase anything legally in Virginia, can they get marijuana plants from outside the state and bring them in?