Posted on

marijuana seed laws in illinois

Autoflowering, Feminized, Regular | Medicinal

The Land of Lincoln introduced their new cannabis laws in January of 2020, and as you might expect, demand has steadily increased since the state first opened its doors to the legalised cannabis industry with a reported $47 million in cannabis sales for June alone!

A specially selected S1 cross fresh from our very own Guru Seeds, we are proud to present Runtz – the fruity West Coast classic that’s the cannabis equivalent of a bag of sugar candy, with an uplifting psychoactive kick that’ll set your adrenaline soaring.

Banana Blaze

Having introduced the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act in 2019, Illinois became the first state to legalize marijuana sales by an act of state legislature, as opposed to the by voter initiatives that we have seen in other legalised states.

Our vast collection of popular Illinois marijuana seeds include high in THC level autoflowering feminized seeds like Blue Dream, Lemon Haze and our potent Kush feminized. From classic cannabis seed banks legends like White Widow and Northern Lights to modern-day all-stars like Green Crack and Skywalker OG, we’ve got you covered with a huge choice of only the finest quality cannabis seeds at Marijuana Grow Shop.

If you’re looking to buy cannabis seeds in Illinois to grow marijuana, but lack the relevant experience, Marijuana Grow Shop is here to ensure all of our customers have a truly rewarding growing experience.

Complete Grow Guide

Anyone with an existing conviction for possessing under 30 grams of cannabis will have their records sent to a Prisoner Review Board. Once reviewed, they’ll be passed on to Gov. J.B. Pritzker for a pardon. Providing the offences aren’t connected with a violent crime, the record will be expunged.

In 2013, the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act was passed. This legalised medicinal cannabis use, but only in extremely tightly controlled circumstances. The programme was signed into law in the same year, making Illinois the 20 th state to legalise cannabis for medicinal purposes.

Can you grow cannabis in Illinois?

After the Farm Bill was passed at federal level (legalising hemp cultivation), the US states swiftly began to pass state laws, permitting farmers to grow hemp in their region.

In 1931, Illinois was one of the earlier US states to ban recreational cannabis use; six years before the national prohibition law was passed. This anti-cannabis stance was maintained for several decades, though the rise of hippy culture in the 1960s challenged the status quo.

From 1 st January 2020, it will be legal for licenced stores to sell cannabis. At first, only medical cannabis dispensaries will supply it, but as 2020 goes on, Illinois will grant extra licences to new retailers, cultivators, transporters and processors.

All possession of greater than 30 grams is considered a felony. Possession of greater than 30 grams is punishable by 1 – 3 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. For a subsequent conviction, the penalty increases to 2 – 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. For possession of greater than 500 grams, the penalty is 2 – 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. For possession of greater than 2,000 grams the penalty is 3 – 7 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. For any possession of an amount greater than 5,000 grams the penalty is 4 – 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.

Bringing more than 2,500 grams into the state for manufacture or delivery is considered trafficking and the penalties are doubled. Any sale to a minor at least three years younger than the seller also doubles the penalty and fine.

When convicted of a drug-related offense, the court may impose an additional fine of at least the full street value of the marijuana seized.

For any first conviction for possession of less than 30 grams, cultivation of any amount or manufacture or delivery of less than fifty plants, the court can defer judgment, place the offender on probation for 24 months and upon successful completion of the probation the court can discharge the proceedings.

Possession of 2.5 grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500. Possession of greater than 2.5 grams is punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,500. Possession of greater than 10 grams is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.