Sale to minors, sale within 1,000 feet of a school, sale within 100 feet of a juvenile, and previous felony drug convictions all increase the penalty for the sale or distribution of marijuana.
Possession of less than 100 grams of marijuana is a citable offense only, with a fine of $100. Possession of 100 grams or more is punishable by a fine of up to $250. For possession of 200 grams or more, the penalty increases to a possible sentence of 6 months – one year in jail. Possession of 1,000 grams or more is punishable by 1 – 5 years in prison. Any possession of less than 5,000 grams does not carry the presumption of prison, which leaves available the possibility of probation. Possession of 5,000 grams of marijuana or more is punishable by 1 – 5 years in prison. For any amount or 20,000 grams or more the penalty increases to a mandatory minimum sentence of eight years in prison.
Delivery of 20 grams or less, for no remuneration, is considered possession and is punished with a fine of $100. Sale or distribution of less than 200 grams carries a penalty of 6 – 18 months in jail. Sale or distribution of 200 grams or more is punishable by 1 – 5 years in prison. Sale or distribution of 600 grams or greater carries a mandatory minimum sentence of six months and a possible 2 – 8 year sentence.
Conditional release: The state allows conditional release or alternative or diversion sentencing for people facing their first prosecutions. Usually, conditional release lets a person opt for probation rather than trial. After successfully completing probation, the individual’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
Possession of paraphernalia is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to 90 days in jail.
As Ohio is located in the Midwest, the climate favors growing cannabis seeds outdoors . The area receives a range of weather conditions, from the sweltering heat in summer to the cold and snow in winter.
Sadly, the current cannabis laws in Ohio make no effort to encourage cultivators in the weed industry. It is illegal to grow at either a commercial or private level in Ohio.
The soil quality in this region is excellent for cannabis plants as it retains moisture very well. What’s more, the water’s pH balance is relatively neutral , making it fantastic for plants. You should still test both, regardless of this fact, to remedy any deficiencies before they can occur.
How to make the most of the climate conditions for growing
There are regulated dispensaries and seed banks in Ohio where you can purchase your medication. You’ll need to present your card for every purchase at one of these stores.
You can either buy a “whole day unit” or a “90-day supply” of medical cannabis. These amounts depend on the type of marijuana you purchase as well as the THC levels . You are not permitted to buy cannabis products from Ohio dispensaries if you are a visitor holding an out-of-state- card.
Due to the status of growing cannabis in Ohio, we recommend waiting for it to change its laws before embarking on your cultivation adventure . To prepare you for such a time, we investigate the best method to grow the weed of your dreams in the Buckeye State.
If you’re found with up to 3.5 ounces , you’ll receive a fine of $150 . First-time offenses don’t receive any jail time , making this state far more lenient than others in the US. What’s even more promising is that some cities such as Cincinnati and Dayton have removed the financial charges altogether.