Missouri residents can only use CBD oil legally if they have a hemp extract registration card. Learn more. Are you looking for CBD in Missouri? This article will clear up the laws & point you in the direction of a reliable CBD supplier in Missouri.
Is CBD Oil Legal in Missouri? – August 2022
A hemp extract registration card is required to buy and consume CBD oil legally in Missouri (4) . Residents with certain medical conditions can obtain this card from the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS).
Individuals qualify for the card if they have the following medical conditions , as listed by the DHSS (5) :
- Intractable epilepsy
- Treatment-resistant migraines
- Chronic pain, such as pain associated with seizures and multiple sclerosis
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders
- Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- A terminal illness
- Inflammatory bowel disease, autism, neuropathies, wasting syndrome, and Alzheimer’s disease
- Other debilitating medical conditions diagnosed by a physician
Cardholders are allowed to possess and use hemp CBD without fear of prosecution. However, they can only use products with less than 0.3% THC ( tetrahydrocannabinol ) by weight (6) .
THC is one of the primary compounds of cannabis plants known for its mind-altering effects when consumed (7) .
Missouri law also requires these hemp extracts to have at least 5% cannabidiol while having no other psychoactive substance (8) .
Moreover, qualified patients are required to consume marijuana in private (9) . Using cannabis in public places, such as sidewalks, bridges, streets, schools, businesses, and parks, is prohibited.
CBD shop owners may designate private spaces where patients can use medical marijuana.
Individuals who wish to consume hemp products should be approved for the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). To apply, individuals must (10) :
- Submit a completed Missouri Hemp Registration Card Application form
- Submit a completed Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Neurologist Certification form
- Provide a copy of their Missouri photo identification
- Provide a copy of their neurologist ‘s evaluation
A hemp registration card is valid for one year only . Cardholders who want to remain listed in the program should reapply. Currently, there are only two licensed facilities in Missouri that sell hemp extracts .
With the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill , industrial hemp was no longer a controlled substance in the United States (11) . Still, residents of Missouri should adhere to MHERP policies and all the regulations established through the medical marijuana program .
Missouri CBD Laws
The cultivation of hemp in Missouri can be traced back to 1835 (12) . Records showed that peak hemp production occurred around the mid – to late 19 th century.
After the 1970 Controlled Substance Act was passed , controlled substances have been categorized into five schedules based on abuse potential, and cannabis (marijuana) remains a Schedule 1 drug under federal law (13) .
In 2014, after over 40 years, Missouri started making changes to its marijuana laws .
These are the state laws related to CBD legalization in Missouri :
Senate Bill 491
The year 2014 saw partial decriminalization of cannabis possession through Senate Bill 491 (14) .
Individuals caught in possession of 10 grams of marijuana or less do not face prison time. Instead, they should pay a maximum fine of $500.
Senate Bill 491 passed the Senate and became law without the signature of the then Governor Jay Nixon (15) . However, the law did not take effect until January 2017.
House Bill 2238
In July 2014, the then Governor Jay Nixon signed House Bill 2238 or the Missouri Medical Marijuana Bill (16) . The law allowed Missouri residents to treat persistent seizures with CBD oil , provided that they have a registration card.
House Bill 2238 assigned the Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA) to grow industrial hemp and produce extracts to treat epileptic residents. The bill only legalizes hemp extracts that have at least 5% CBD and less than 0.3% THC .
The MDA was tasked to provide cultivation and production facility licenses to nonprofit entities to start producing CBD hemp oil .
Missouri Amendment 2
In November 2018, Missouri voters passed a ballot measure on marijuana legalization (17) . It allowed medical marijuana patients to grow up to six cannabis plants at home. They could also purchase at least four ounces of cannabis per month.
Amendment 2 levied a 4% tax for every medical marijuana sale. The tax proceeds went to housing assistance, job training efforts , and healthcare services to veterans.
Despite Amendment 2’s approval, two other initiatives did not win the people’s votes . Amendment 3 had a provision to add to the existing qualifying conditions. However, the proposed tax rate for medical marijuana use was higher, at 15% (18) .
Proposition C, a statutory change, was intended to lower the medical cannabis tax. However, it only garnered 44% support from Missouri voters and was not approved .
Senate Bill 133
Senate Bill 133 was drafted by Senator Mike Cunningham and signed to law by Governor Mike Parson in June 2019 (19) . The bill requires any person who sells or distributes hemp to obtain a permit from the MDA.
Under this law, hemp registration may be transferred to a person who meets a registrant’s requirements. It also requires farmers to have a separate registration for each outdoor or indoor hemp cultivation area.
Hemp farmers need to have their crops tested for THC . Any crop that averages more than the allowed THC concentration under federal law may be destroyed.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol may also carry out aerial surveillance to check for illegal industrial hemp farms.
- Columbia – In 2004, Columbia passed a ballot to decriminalize medical cannabis (20) . One of its objectives was to ensure that qualified patients were not punished for possessing medical marijuana .
- St. Louis – In 2013, the city voted to allow police to cite individuals rather than arrest them for possessing o ver 35 grams of marijuana (21) . The cited persons are subjected to a fine ranging from $100 to $500.
- Kansas City – In 2017, city residents approved a ballot measure to decriminalize individuals who possess up to 35 grams of marijuana (22) . Violators were required to pay a fee of $25 and did not face jail time.
People who want to grow hemp plants commercially are required to apply for an MDA Hemp Program license. These are the essential details applicants should know about the application process (23) :
- Interested individuals can send their applications at any time of the year.
- Forms must be mailed to this address: Missouri Department of Agriculture , Industrial Hemp Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630.
- Each application must include a nonrefundable personal check, business check, cashier’s check, or money order of $750 to be paid to the Missouri Department of Agriculture .
- Producers are required to submit to a state and federal criminal background check.
- There is no restriction on the number of permits or registrations that can be issued.
- There is no minimum or maximum acreage for registrants.
- Registrations and permits are valid for three years. Continued compliance is required to maintain the license .
- License holders should pay an annual fee of $750.
- Individuals are limited to one parcel of land for each application. A parcel is a piece of land that has a unique legal land description.
- A p roducer r egistration authorizes individual s to cultivate industrial hemp in the state. Registered producers are allowed to sell their crops once the hemp plants have passed the accepted THC levels.
- An Agricultural Hemp Propagule and Seed Permit allows a person to sell and distribute industrial hemp in Missouri . Permit holders must obtain a p roducer r egistration if they plan to keep agricultural hemp for more than 48 hours.
Producers are responsible for choosing a hemp – testing laboratory that adheres to the state’s medical marijuana laws (24) .
Registered producers must choose a testing laboratory registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). A lab does not have to be located in Missouri . However, producers should review carrier policies before shipping the sample to the laboratory .
Certificates of analysis (COAs) must be sent to the Missouri Department of Agriculture for compliance . Producers can email them to [email protected]
Registered producers are given three days to submit their non-compliant (fail) results. Meanwhile, compliant (pass) results should be sent within thirty days.
Third-party laboratories can send the results on behalf of a producer. However, it is the producer’s responsibility to ensure that the reports are delivered to the program staff.
Buying CBD Legally
Patients and caregivers registered under the MHERP can purchase marijuana for medical use . The patient’s doctor may certify up to 4 ounces of dried, unprocessed cannabis within 30 days (25) .
In case a higher amount of medical marijuana is required, patients need to submit two independent doctor certifications. These documents should specify the additional amount required by the patient.
How to Choose Which CBD Products to Buy
Due to CBD legality in the United States , Missouri residents can now use cannabidiol for various reasons. Many stores and dispensaries are now selling high-quality CBD products , such as topicals, edibles, oils, and vapes .
To determine the best CBD oil product in Missouri , one should seek a brand that meets legal requirements.
Here are a few things to keep in mind when deciding to buy CBD oil in Missouri :
Check Brand Reviews
Before buying CBD products in Missouri, individuals must check brand reviews, including ratings and accreditation from the Better Business Bureau (BBB). BBB-accredited brands are reliable as they pass certain categories, like customer service and ethical business practices.
Moreover, membership in hemp organizations, such as the Missouri Hemp Producers Association, is another relevant factor when assessing a brand’s credibility.
Purchase Third-Party Lab–Tested Products Only
Reputable third-party laboratories ensure that hemp CBD products do not have unwanted additives. These contaminants can include harmful solvents and heavy metals.
Through third-party lab reports , users can determine if the product’s actual CBD content matches what the brand has on the product label.
Ideal CBD companies make these lab reports readily accessible to the public. Many online retailers upload their COAs on their website.
Choose CO2–Extracted CBD
Supercritical CO 2 extraction is considered a safe and efficient method of obtaining cannabinoids from cannabis (26) . The approach does not require using additional solvents or heat, ensuring the purity of the final product.
The equipment required to perform CO 2 extraction is expensive. Still, companies that use this method are more likely to commit to producing high-quality CBD products .
Double-Check THC Levels
According to federal law , CBD products with a THC content of more than 0.3% are illegal (27) . People in possession of CBD with high THC levels may be subject to prosecution.
Individuals should double-check the THC content of their CBD before making a purchase. Accessing a product’s certificate of analysis can help identify THC levels.
Be Knowledgeable of CBD Product Labels
Buyers should ensure that they acquire CBD from brands that follow the correct packaging and labeling guidelines. Therapeutic claims on CBD product labels are not allowed by the Food and Drug Administration ( FDA ) (28) .
These are the following details to look for when checking product labels:
- Amount of CBD per serving
- Ingredients used in the product
- Net weight
- Name of distributor or manufacturer
- Suggested product use
- CBD type
- Batch code
Many reputable CBD brands readily provide these details on the packages of their products.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally
Missouri residents need to provide a neurologists’ recommendation instead of a prescription before they can buy CBD oil (29) .
These are the DHSS-licensed dispensaries where users can buy CBD oil in Missouri (30) :
- GRD Moberly in Moberly
- BeLeaf Medical in Saint Peters
- Missouri Health & Wellness in Sedalia and Washington
- Harmony in Neosho
- The Dispensary in Cassville
- Old Route 66 Wellness in Springfield and Ozark
- Nirvana Bliss in Ballwin and Ellisville
- Fresh Green in Lee’s Summit
These CBD shops in Missouri have been approved to operate as of November 30 , 2020.
Apart from the minimum standards, like the entity being owned by natural persons who have been residents of the state for at least a year and the entity not operating within 1,000 feet of an existing elementary or secondary school or church, DHSS requirements include the following (31) :
- Character, background, veracity, qualifications, and relevant experience of principal officers or managers
- Site security
- Capacity or experience with healthcare , the suitability of the proposed location, and its accessibility for patients
Evaluations include numerical scoring. Thus, DHSS-licensed dispensaries are credible as they have passed in terms of safety, security, and credibility.
Missouri residents can also buy online, directly from the brand’s website or from other CBD retailers.
CBD is a compound obtained from cannabis plants believed to exert several pharmacological effects. It has been found to have antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties (32) .
There are three types of cannabidiol oils available: full-spectrum, broad-spectrum, and CBD isolates.
Full-spectrum CBD contains all the components of cannabis plants . It includes THC and other phytocannabinoids, which some people prefer.
Meanwhile, b road-spectrum CBD offers the same cannabinoid profile as full-spectrum CBD, except it has no THC . This variant is for individuals who want to avoid failing a drug test or are allergic to THC .
People who prefer to consume pure CBD can choose isolates. These products are often sold in crystalline or powdered form. Users can inhale CBD isolates by heating them through a device called “dab rig.”
Missouri residents can only use CBD oil if they have a hemp extract registration card. This card can be obtained through the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program .
Cardholders can possess and use CBD, granted that the product contains less than 0.3% THC by dry weight. The product should also contain at least 5% cannabidiol .
One way to verify CBD and THC content is by checking a product’s certificate of analysis. Most reputable CBD companies make their lab reports readily available to the public.
People should seek advice from a doctor before deciding to purchase any CBD product . A physician can advise users on cannabidiol use and its potential interactions with other prescribed medications.
Where to Buy CBD in Missouri in 2022
If you’re looking to buy CBD in Missouri, placing your order through a trustworthy online store is usually your best bet.
This article will clear up any concerns you might have about purchasing CBD in Missouri and show you the best places to buy CBD online and in-store.
Before you place an order, it’s good to know a little bit about CBD and why everyone is trying to get some for themselves.
1. All Hemp-Derived Cannabinoids Legal | Marijuana Medical Use Only
Table of Contents
Is CBD Legal in Missouri in 2022?
Yes, CBD is entirely legal in the state of Missouri — but there are some stipulations.
If your CBD is produced from industrial hemp plants, it will usually contain less than 0.3% THC.
Using these products, you can get relief from pain, inflammation, seizures, nausea, and more without worrying about the police.
You can usually find industrial hemp CBD over the counter in Missouri.
We’ve included a few tips for buying the right CBD product for your needs and protecting yourself from these shady companies.
Best CBD Vendors That Ship to Missouri:
- Royal CBD Oil— Best CBD Oil Overall
- Gold Bee CBD Gummies— Best CBD Gummies
- CBDistillery THC-Free Pure CBD Oil— Best CBD Isolate Oil
- Industrial Hemp Farms— Best CBD Flower
- Honest Paws CBD Oil For Dogs— Best CBD Oil For Dogs
What is CBD?
CBD (cannabidiol) is a non-psychoactive chemical compound found in cannabis plants. Non-psychoactive means that it doesn’t produce the high that is usually associated with marijuana.
It is useful for treating the symptoms of many conditions, including cancer, HIV, glaucoma, epilepsy, post-traumatic stress disorder, and many others.
The chemical that causes the high associated with cannabis is called THC and is found primarily in flowering marijuana plants. Industrial hemp plants do contain a small amount of THC; however, it’s generally not enough to get you high.
CBD can be made from both marijuana and industrial hemp plants. The law in Missouri treats the two differently.
How to Buy High-Quality CBD in Missouri
Taking the time to research the background of CBD companies will save you time and money.
If you’re looking to get the best CBD products for your needs, follow these steps to avoid the fakes.
1. Only order from companies that get their products tested by an outside lab
These labs can check the CBD for any unwanted additives, including heavy metals and solvents. They will also make sure that the CBD content matches what’s on the packaging. Don’t waste your time if the company hasn’t had its products tested.
2. Buy CBD that has been extracted using CO2
This is by far the best method for extracting CBD. It doesn’t require any heat or additional solvents, so it keeps the CBD as pure as possible. The machinery needed to perform CO2 extraction is quite expensive as well. Therefore, any company using this method likely takes its business seriously and is committed to a quality product.
3. Double-check the THC content
This is especially important in Missouri, where CBD with high THC content is illegal. Don’t get busted for possession of marijuana-derived CBD. Industrial hemp CBD, on the other hand, offers many of the same health benefits without the high and you won’t risk getting into trouble.
4. Use full-spectrum CBD products to get the maximum benefits
Full-spectrum CBD products contain additional useful compounds, including other cannabinoids, terpenes, and flavonoids. This type of CBD is also generally more difficult to extract, which is a good sign that the company is committed to a quality product.
These steps will weed out a lot of the sketchy companies and put you on the path to a reliable supplier for all of your CBD needs.
Where Can I Buy CBD in Missouri?
Industrial hemp CBD can be found easily online or in stores across the state.
As a general rule, it’s most convenient to order your CBD from an online store.
However, if going to a local spot is more your style, check out our list below of great places to try in Missouri.
Buy CBD Oil Online
Shopping online for your CBD has several benefits, including convenience and cost.
Online retailers will almost always have a better selection than what you would find in-store. Without the need of keeping a physical storefront stocked all the time, online retailers can have a wider variety of products available to ship at any time.
Another pro that comes from not needing a physical store is that products found online are less expensive. Rent is not cheap, and the prices in-store often reflect that. You can save yourself money and get higher-quality products by shopping online.
Are you running low on CBD at midnight while in your pajamas? No worries. You can place your order at any time when you purchase online — no need to get dressed and hurry off to the local shop before it closes.
However, we understand that sometimes going into a store, and holding the product for yourself makes a big difference. If you would prefer to shop local, see if you can find your city on our list below!
Is Marijuana Legal in Missouri in 2022?
Marijuana is not legal. Missouri laws don’t mess around when it comes to marijuana. Even small infractions can carry harsh penalties.
Your first offense of possession under 10 grams will get you a fine of up to $500 with no time in jail. On your second offense, however, jail time gets added. It is considered a misdemeanor, and you can receive up to a year in prison.
If you possess more than 10 grams, that’s considered a Class A misdemeanor and will get you up to a year in jail and a $1000 fine.
Missouri takes the sale of marijuana especially seriously.
The sale of fewer than 5 grams is a felony with a maximum punishment of up to 7 years in prison and a $5000 fine. More than 5 grams can land you in jail for 5 to 15 years and a $20,000 fine.
Not all is lost. Missouri’s medical marijuana program might benefit you.
On November 6th, 2018, Missouri voters passed Amendment 2, which legalized medical marijuana.
Under Amendment 2, medical marijuana sales will be taxed at 4%, which will be used to support military veteran services. This tax is estimated to generate approximately $24 million per year.
Unlike many other states’ medical marijuana programs, there are no necessary qualifying medical conditions. A patient only requires a doctor’s recommendation to get medical marijuana as a treatment.
Once you have been approved for the Missouri medical marijuana program, you’ll be able to grow up to six plants at home and purchase up to four ounces per month from dispensaries.
Is Delta 8 THC Legal in Missouri in 2022?
Good news — you can buy delta 8 THC in Missouri.
It’s an isomer of delta 9, meaning it’s psychoactive (though less so) and offers many of the same benefits. Its mildness makes it preferable for anyone dealing with anxiety or dislikes the high from delta 9.
Even if you qualify for medical marijuana, delta 8 might be more your speed.
Unfortunately, there are many states that have banned delta 8. If you think CBD laws are unnecessarily complicated, delta 8 laws are worse.
Like CBD, it’s federally legal if it’s derived from hemp and has less than 0.3% THC, but there’s confusion over whether or not it’s a synthetic cannabinoid. Technically, it doesn’t fit the definition since it occurs naturally. Delta 8 is not man-made.
How to Buy Delta 8 THC
And also like CBD, it’s best to buy delta 8 online. Since it’s unregulated, you need to make sure of what you’re buying.
The following online companies take delta 8 seriously and have the tests to prove it.
Local vape shops should have delta 8; otherwise, you’ll probably see signs for it everywhere. Unfortunately, these places are not the best source of it. Many companies sell low-quality or even dangerous delta 8.
It’s important that you look for third-party tests before buying anything.
Shopping online will give you quicker results, better prices, and more selection. Sometimes, you can find a vendor that sells CBD and delta 8 — kill two birds with one stone.
Recommended CBD Retailers in Missouri
All of these stores should have helpful and knowledgeable employees who can recommend the right CBD product for your needs.
If you can’t find CBD locally, make sure you take a look online.
Regardless of where you find your CBD, always do your research before you buy.
Final Notes on Buying CBD & Delta 8 in Missouri
Missouri has strict marijuana laws. However, don’t let that stop you from finding a reputable CBD or delta 8 supplier! Both are legal in Missouri, so take advantage of what you have access to.
Marijuana-derived CBD is illegal to purchase and possess in Missouri. If you’re caught with these extracts, the police will treat you no differently than if you had actual marijuana.
Industrial hemp CBD, on the other hand, is legal to possess. It’s a great way to boost your overall health and find relief from several medical conditions.
The best way to purchase legal CBD and delta 8 in Missouri is by ordering from an online retailer. Otherwise, head down to your local vape shop and see what it has to offer in-store!