Since cannabis seeds are legal in West Virginia, there’s no harm in buying them right away. At i49, we carry a vast array of seeds from different strains of cannabis plants. Our experts are here to help you decide which types of seeds would best suit your needs.
Unfortunately, West Virginia remains among the minority when it comes to marijuana legislature. State lawmakers have yet to legalize it for recreational use. Supporters both inside and outside the state’s legal system are lobbying to change the laws, but so far, they’ve been unsuccessful. Local laws and regulations are quite clear in this regard.
With the conclusion of that brief botany lesson, we’ll proceed to the buying process. If you’re looking for cannabis seeds in West Virginia, you have plenty of options to choose from. Some seeds produce plants containing higher levels of THC, the chemical in marijuana known for generating its famous high. Others offer more CBD, the medically beneficial component.
West Virginia’s Standpoint on Medical Marijuana
Feminized seeds are the go-to choice for a number of people. They produce only female plants. This is important because male plants produce seeds rather than smokable buds. When you grow male plants, you’ll end up with a great deal of popping and crackling during the smoking process as opposed to a smooth, enjoyable experience.
Female plants, on the other hand, produce the flowers most people are looking for, and they contain more of marijuana’s helpful chemicals than males do. This means you’ll get more of the benefits with less material than you would with male seeds.
Your name and address must be identical across all forms of documentation. Applying for the medical marijuana card also requires an application fee. Once the application has been processed and the fee paid, you’ll receive your card and be able to take advantage of cannabis’ medical benefits and enjoy products from the dispensaries after they open.
Some people insist auto-flowering cannabis doesn’t taste as good or produce the same type of effect as traditional feminized alternatives. Still, it’s simpler to grow and isn’t as high maintenance as other options. This means even first-time growers are likely to see success with auto-flowering seeds.
Subsequent offenses double the possible penalties.
Possession of marijuana is punishable by 90 days – 6 months in jail and a fine up to $1,000. Possession with intent to manufacture or deliver a controlled substance is a felony and can result in imprisonment of not less than one year and not more than five years, or a fine of fifteen thousand dollars, or both.
Mandatory minimum sentence: When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence, the judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. The judge has no power to sentence the defendant to less time than the mandatory minimum. A prisoner serving an MMS for a federal offense and for most state offenses will not be eligible for parole. Even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence with no chance of parole.
Operating an illegal drug paraphernalia business is punishable by 6 months – 1 year in jail and a fine up to $5,000.
Transportation of marijuana into the state with the intent to deliver is punishable by 1 – 5 years in prison and a fine up to $15,000.
Conditional release: The state allows conditional release or alternative or diversion sentencing for people facing their first prosecutions. Usually, conditional release lets a person opt for probation rather than trial. After successfully completing probation, the individual’s criminal record does not reflect the charge.
Cultivation, delivery or sale is punishable by 1 – 5 years in prison and a fine up to $15,000. Sale to a minor or sale within 1,000 feet of a school requires a two-year mandatory minimum sentence for the sale.